Saturday, August 24, 2019

 |   PRINT |

Last modified on: 8/9/2018 11:18:03 AM 26th death anniversary of Lt Gen Kobbekaduwa held in Anuradhapura

26th death anniversary of Lt Gen Kobbekaduwa held in Anuradhapura

[August 09 2018]


A commemorative ceremony was held to pay tribute to late Lieutenant General Denzil Kobbekaduwa and other military War Heroes who made the ultimate sacrifice in the Araly Point tragedy, in Anuradhapura on Wednesday (08).

According to Army media, the 26th death anniversary of the late War Hero was held at the statue of Lieutenant General Kobbekaduwa with the participation of Mrs. Laly Kobbekaduwa, family members and senior Army officers in the Anuradhapura town.

Floral wreaths were laid at the monument of the late War Hero by those present amidst the blessings of the Maha Sangha.

Lieutenant General Denzil Kobbekaduwa, one of the finest military leaders of modern times of the country laid down his life along with Major General Wijaya Wimalarathne, Rear Admiral Mohan Jayamaha, Lieutenant Colonel H.R Stephen, Lieutenant Colonel G.H. Ariyarathne, Lieutenant Colonel Y N Palipana, Commander Asanga Lankathilaka, Lieutenant Colonel Nalin de Alwis, Lieutenant Commander C.B. Wijepura and the soldier, Private W.J Wickremasinghe while  on a military assignment at Araly Point in Kayts, Jaffna on 08th August 1992.

Lieutenant General Denzil Kobbekaduwa is a past pupil of Trinity College, Kandy. He joined the Sri Lanka Army on 25th May 1960. Upon completing basic military training here he left for Sandhurst, UK to receive further training at the prestigious Royal Military Academy. He was commissioned to the Sri Lanka Armoured corps, as a Second Lieutenant on 03rd August 1962.

His role during the early stages of the terrorist conflict speaks volumes of the military acumen and command of this great son of the soil. He has been awarded a number of medals including the Rana Wickrama Padakkama and Vadamarachchi Operations Medal. He was posthumously promoted to Lieutenant General and awarded the Vishista Seva Vibhushanaya, Rana Sura Padakkama (twice), Uttama Seva Padakkama and Desha Putra Sammanaya. His widow received the Uththama Pooja Pranama Padakkama medal in 2010.

Colonel Commandant of the Sri Lanka Armoured Corps (SLAC), Major General Sathyapriya Liyanage and General Officer Commanding, 21 Division Major General Ruwan Silva were also present at the ceremony.

2006 Ministry of Defence and Urban Development - Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor